“… FALSEHOODS AND DISTORTIONS …”

… In all my 50 years of public service I have never seen a document that was more crowded with infamous falsehoods and distortions – … on a scale so huge that I never imagined until today that any Government on this planet was capable of uttering them.

Cordell Hull, U.S. Secretary of State

Addressing Japanese Ambassador Nomura & Envoy Kurusu

7th December 1941

Knowing my obsession with all things British & all things disability-related, those who know me well – whether on-line or IRL – will either be:-

  • surprised with me writing what I have written above, or

  • thinking I’m about to write something immensely profound and of huge importance.

  • Actually, the answer to that puzzle is – BOTH!

My obsession with Japan was first drilled into me with “All Our Yesterdays” in the 1960s and continued from there.  My partial Xenopathy – as an Autistic, I think it is dishonest to claim a hostility to be a fear! – was fostered from that point onwards.  A distant cousin of mine, a 17-year-old Royal Navy Boy Seaman, was killed when the Capital Ships of Force ZH.M.S. Prince of Wales and H.M.S. Repulse – were attacked and sunk by Japanese aircraft in December 1941; I was therefore encouraged to be a Xenopath from an extremely young age.

Leave a Reply

